Oklahoma City, OK

Oklahoma City electrical permit cost

An Oklahoma City electrical permit is priced by one of five regimes, chosen by occupancy, area and scope — and Title 18 states no permit minimum.

Residential new construction (§ 60-18-14) is a $175.00 base for a 240-volt single-phase service up to 200 amps, plus $50.00 for each additional 100 amps or portion, plus the required rough ($50) and final ($50) inspections. Commercial new construction splits at 4,000 square feet: $67.00 base with $40.50 amp rows below, $221.00 base with $103.50 amp rows at or above. Add-on and service-change rows take remodels, § 60-18-26 carries the miscellaneous rows (pool wiring, generator, photovoltaic, low-voltage, sign service), and every permit adds the state's $0.50 OUBCC line.

Official fee scheduleVerified Sep 2026City of Oklahoma City

How this fee is calculated

These are the components the schedule defines for this permit, as they applied on 2026-09-28. A component only applies to your project if its conditions match — read that column before assuming a figure. Want a figure for your own project? Estimate this fee with the permit fee calculator.

Fee components for an electrical permit
ComponentFormulaApplies whenRange
Commercial add-on 4,000 sq ft or more — $201.00Permit fee$201.00 flat feeOccupancy is not residential and electrical add on is true and Project area at least 4000 and not (five outlets standalone is true)—
Commercial add-on under 4,000 sq ft — $93.00Permit fee$93.00 flat feeOccupancy is not residential and electrical add on is true and not (Project area at least 4000) and not (five outlets standalone is true)—
Commercial new construction 4,000 sq ft or more — $103.50 per each additional 100 amperes over 200, or portionPermit fee$1.035 per ampere above the first 200 A (per 100 A or fraction thereof)Occupancy is not residential and Work type is new construction and not (five outlets standalone is true) and Project area at least 4000—
Commercial new construction 4,000 sq ft or more — base $221.00Permit fee$221.00 flat feeOccupancy is not residential and Work type is new construction and not (five outlets standalone is true) and Project area at least 4000—
Commercial new construction 4,000 sq ft or more — final $25.50Inspection fee$25.50 flat feeOccupancy is not residential and Work type is new construction and not (five outlets standalone is true) and Project area at least 4000—
Commercial new construction 4,000 sq ft or more — rough $22.50Inspection fee$22.50 flat feeOccupancy is not residential and Work type is new construction and not (five outlets standalone is true) and Project area at least 4000—
Commercial new construction under 4,000 sq ft — $40.50 per each additional 100 amperes over 200, or portionPermit fee$0.405 per ampere above the first 200 A (per 100 A or fraction thereof)Occupancy is not residential and Work type is new construction and not (five outlets standalone is true) and not (Project area at least 4000)—
Commercial new construction under 4,000 sq ft — base $67.00Permit fee$67.00 flat feeOccupancy is not residential and Work type is new construction and not (five outlets standalone is true) and not (Project area at least 4000)—
Commercial new construction under 4,000 sq ft — final $27.00Inspection fee$27.00 flat feeOccupancy is not residential and Work type is new construction and not (five outlets standalone is true) and not (Project area at least 4000)—
Commercial new construction under 4,000 sq ft — rough $20.50Inspection fee$20.50 flat feeOccupancy is not residential and Work type is new construction and not (five outlets standalone is true) and not (Project area at least 4000)—
Commercial service change — $100.00Permit fee$100.00 flat feeOccupancy is not residential and service change is true and not (five outlets standalone is true)—
Commercial temporary construction service — $75.00Permit fee$75.00 flat feeOccupancy is not residential and temp construction service is true and not (five outlets standalone is true)—
Five outlets or less, no service change — $100.00Permit fee$100.00 flat feefive outlets standalone is true—
Generator — $93.00Permit fee$93.00 flat feegenerator is true—
Commercial low-voltage — $93.00Permit fee$93.00 flat feecommercial low voltage is true—
Oklahoma Uniform Building Code Commission collection fee — $0.50 per permitState surcharge$0.50 flat feeEvery permit of this type—
Pool wiring — $93.00Permit fee$93.00 flat feepool wiring is true—
Photovoltaic installation — $120.00Permit fee$120.00 flat feephotovoltaic system is true—
Residential add-on or remodel, no service change — $100.00Permit fee$100.00 flat feeOccupancy is residential and electrical add on is true and not (service change is true) and not (five outlets standalone is true)—
Residential meter base inspection — $50.00Permit fee$50.00 flat feeOccupancy is residential and meter base is true and not (five outlets standalone is true)—
Residential new construction — $50.00 per each additional 100 amps over 200, or portionPermit fee$0.5 per ampere above the first 200 A (per 100 A or fraction thereof)Occupancy is residential and Work type is one of new construction, addition and not (five outlets standalone is true)—
Residential new construction — base $175.00 (service up to 200 amps, 240V single phase)Permit fee$175.00 flat feeOccupancy is residential and Work type is one of new construction, addition and not (five outlets standalone is true)—
Residential new construction — final inspection $50.00Inspection fee$50.00 flat feeOccupancy is residential and Work type is one of new construction, addition and not (five outlets standalone is true)—
Residential new construction — rough inspection $50.00Inspection fee$50.00 flat feeOccupancy is residential and Work type is one of new construction, addition and not (five outlets standalone is true)—
Residential service change — $100.00 up to 200 ampsPermit fee$100.00 flat feeOccupancy is residential and service change is true and not (five outlets standalone is true)—
Residential service change — $50.00 per each additional 100 amps over 200, or portionPermit fee$0.5 per ampere above the first 200 A (per 100 A or fraction thereof)Occupancy is residential and service change is true and not (five outlets standalone is true)—
Residential temporary construction service — $75.00Permit fee$75.00 flat feeOccupancy is residential and temp construction service is true and not (five outlets standalone is true)—
Service for sign — $93.00Permit fee$93.00 flat feesign service is true—

A real permit fee is these components added together. The department’s final calculation is the one that applies — this is the schedule it will be based on.

A worked example

Follow the arithmetic by hand. Every line is produced by the engine from the rules above, so the total cannot drift away from the schedule behind it.

Worked example

A commercial new-construction electrical permit: 5,000 square feet, 400-amp service, no standalone rows selected.

Inputs used for this example
InputValue
Project area5,000 sq ft
Occupancy classCommercial
Type of workNew construction
Service amperage400 A

Example total

$476.50

An estimate, not an official fee. It is calculated from the published fee schedule as it applied on 2026-09-28. The permit office’s own calculation is the one that applies, and your project may fall under rules this schedule does not describe.

Fee schedule as of 2026-09-28Rules applied 5Rules considered 28

Fee components
ComponentHow it is calculatedAmount
Commercial new construction 4,000 sq ft or more — $103.50 per each additional 100 amperes over 200, or portionPermit fee"+ $103.50 per 100 amperes or portion over 200" — a dollar and three cents per ampere, rounded up to whole hundreds above 200: 400 amps is two additional hundreds, $207.00.
Show the working
Service amperage
200 A
Amount above the first 200 A
200 A
Rate applied
$1.035 per ampere
Component total
$207.00
$1.035 per ampere above the first 200 A, or fraction thereof, rounded up in 100 A steps$207.00
Commercial new construction 4,000 sq ft or more — base $221.00Permit fee"4,000 square feet or more ... $221.00" (§ 60-18-22).
Show the working
Flat fee
$221.00
$221.00 flat fee$221.00
Commercial new construction 4,000 sq ft or more — final $25.50Inspection fee"final $25.50" (§ 60-18-22's inspection pair).
Show the working
Flat fee
$25.50
$25.50 flat fee$25.50
Commercial new construction 4,000 sq ft or more — rough $22.50Inspection fee"rough $22.50" (§ 60-18-22's inspection pair).
Show the working
Flat fee
$22.50
$22.50 flat fee$22.50
Oklahoma Uniform Building Code Commission collection fee — $0.50 per permitState surcharge"Administrative Collection Fee, per permit ..... $0.50" (§ 60-18-27) — the same 59 O.S. § 1000.25 line as Title 12, repeated for the electrical schedule. The 2.7 percent card service fee the same section imposes is a property of the payment channel and is named, not charged.
Show the working
Flat fee
$0.50
$0.50 flat fee$0.50
Total $476.50

Fees that do not apply here

Listed so you can see what was considered and left out, rather than wondering whether something is missing. A rule can also be left out because it is not published for this permit at all, and that is stated where it matters.

  • Commercial add-on 4,000 sq ft or more — $201.00 — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Commercial add-on under 4,000 sq ft — $93.00 — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Commercial new construction under 4,000 sq ft — $40.50 per each additional 100 amperes over 200, or portion — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Commercial new construction under 4,000 sq ft — base $67.00 — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Commercial service change — $100.00 — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Commercial temporary construction service — $75.00 — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Five outlets or less, no service change — $100.00 — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Generator — $93.00 — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Commercial low-voltage — $93.00 — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Pool wiring — $93.00 — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Photovoltaic installation — $120.00 — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Residential add-on or remodel, no service change — $100.00 — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Residential meter base inspection — $50.00 — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Residential new construction — $50.00 per each additional 100 amps over 200, or portion — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Residential new construction — base $175.00 (service up to 200 amps, 240V single phase) — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Residential service change — $100.00 up to 200 amps — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Residential service change — $50.00 per each additional 100 amps over 200, or portion — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Residential temporary construction service — $75.00 — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Service for sign — $93.00 — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Commercial new construction under 4,000 sq ft — final $27.00 — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Commercial new construction under 4,000 sq ft — rough $20.50 — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Residential new construction — final inspection $50.00 — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.
  • Residential new construction — rough inspection $50.00 — This fee does not apply to the inputs provided.

Assumptions

  • Calculated from 5 fee rules in effect on 2026-09-28.
  • Amounts are rounded to the nearest cent, once, at the end of each component.

Four lines from § 60-18-22 and the state line — $476.50.

Base: 5,000 square feet is at or above the 4,000-square-foot seam, so the large branch answers: $221.00.

Amperage: "each additional 100 amperes or portion over 200 — $103.50". 400 amps is 200 amps over the base's 200, exactly two hundreds — $207.00. (350 amps would round 150 up to 200 and also pay $207.00; 200 amps or fewer pays nothing here.)

Inspections: the schedule lists them as lines of the fee — rough $22.50 and final $25.50 — because § 60-18-22 prints "plus, for required inspection" beside them.

State: $0.50 OUBCC under § 60-18-27.

Total: $221.00 + $207.00 + $22.50 + $25.50 + $0.50 = $476.50. What moves it: the same job at 3,999 square feet switches to the small branch ($67 base, $40.50 amp rows, $20.50/$27 inspections — $246.50 total); at 200 amps the amp row disappears entirely; a residential version of the same job would price under § 60-18-14 at $175 + amps + $100 of inspections; and nothing here is floored, because Title 18 states no minimum.

What is different in Oklahoma City

The amperage add-ons all measure from the same place — the 200 amps the base fee covers — and round the excess up to whole hundreds, "or portion thereof": a 350-amp residential service is two additional hundreds, $100.00. The 4,000-square-foot seam on the commercial side is a condition on the project's own area, and a project whose area is not stated falls to the smaller base so the permit is never silently free.

§ 60-18-12's five-outlet permit is the one row that excludes the others: its own scope words — "unrelated to building permits and requiring no change in service" — make it standalone, and while it is selected the branch regimes stand down. Both occupancy classes print the same $100 figure.

No minimum applies. The $75 floors live in Title 12 (§ 60-12-7 and § 60-12-9) and do not reach across titles, so an electrical permit here pays exactly what its rows compute — which is why a small service change can cost less than a building permit's floor.

What this figure does not include

Impact fees, utility connections and other departments’ permits are the usual omissions, and in some jurisdictions they are larger than the permit fee itself.

Not included in these figures

This is Title 18's electrical permit fee — the regime rows, the amperage add-ons, the inspection pair and the state's $0.50 line. It excludes:

  • The permit floor that does not exist. Title 18 states no minimum; the $75 minimums are Title 12's and reach only building permits.
  • The service-size add-on on commercial service changes. § 60-18-24(c) prices the size *added*, which is not an input this engine has — that piece is named rather than priced against total amperage.
  • Partial-rough inspections. The "slab, wall, service, etc." row is conditional on a stage the input does not know; reinspection and after-hours fees are event-driven.
  • Miscellaneous rows without their triggers. Water-well service $50, temporary heat $29.50, carnival service $84, booth spaces $75, after-hours inspection $175 and consultation $100 are named in the research record.
  • Contractor registration and the card fee. The $100/year electrical contractor registration is licensing; the 2.7% card surcharge belongs to the payment channel.
  • Mechanical permits. Title 29 is read and recorded without a page in this pass.

What you need before applying

  • Amperage is what the add-on rows measure, and they measure it from 200Required

    Every branch that prints a base covering 200 amps measures its add-on from 200: residential $50.00 per each additional 100 amps or portion thereof over 200, commercial under 4,000 sq ft $40.50, commercial 4,000 sq ft or more $103.50. The excess rounds up to whole hundreds — 350 amps is two additional hundreds on the residential row. The service rows of § 60-18-16 read the same fact, and a permit that does not state an amperage is charged none of them rather than a guessed service size.

  • Title 18 states no permit minimumMay be required

    The $75 minimums live in Title 12 § 60-12-7 and § 60-12-9 and do not reach across titles: an electrical permit under this chapter pays what its rows compute, with no floor, and the same is true of plumbing under Title 42. Registrations ($100 electrical contractor, annually) are licensing rather than permitting.

Common questions

How much is an electrical permit in Oklahoma City?

By regime. Residential new construction: $175.00 base (service up to 200 amps) plus $50.00 per each additional 100 amps or portion, plus $50 rough and $50 final. Commercial new construction: $67.00 under 4,000 sq ft or $221.00 at/above it, plus $40.50 or $103.50 per additional 100 amps over 200, plus the rough/final pair ($20.50/$27 or $22.50/$25.50). Add-ons and service changes run $93–$201 by area or $100 residential; miscellaneous rows (pool, generator, photovoltaic, low-voltage, sign) are $93–$120. Every permit adds $0.50 for the state.

Is there a minimum on the electrical permit?

No. Title 18 states no permit floor — the $75 minimums live in Title 12 § 60-12-7 and § 60-12-9 and apply to building permits only. An electrical permit pays exactly what its rows compute.

How are amps charged?

Every add-on row measures from 200 — the amount the base fee already covers — and rounds the excess up to whole hundreds: residential and service rows are $50.00 per additional 100 amps or portion, commercial under 4,000 sq ft is $40.50, commercial 4,000 sq ft and up is $103.50. A 400-amp commercial service is two additional hundreds, $207.00; a 350-amp one rounds 150 up to 200 and also pays $207.00.

Why does the price jump at 4,000 square feet?

Because §§ 60-18-20 and 60-18-22 are two schedules, not one: under 4,000 sq ft the base is $67.00 with $40.50 amp rows and $20.50/$27 inspections; at 4,000 sq ft or more the base is $221.00 with $103.50 amp rows and $22.50/$25.50 inspections. The seam is a condition on the project's own area, so an unstated area falls to the smaller base rather than to a free permit.

Do I need a permit for five outlets?

§ 60-18-12 prices "Five outlets or less, unrelated to building permits and requiring no change in service" at $100.00 — and its scope makes it standalone: while that row is selected, the branch regimes stand down. If the work touches a building permit or changes service, the branch schedule prices it instead.

Source and verification

The documents behind every figure on this page, with the dates that make them checkable.

  • Municipal codeCityPrimary source

    OKC Code of Ordinances, Chapter 60 — General Schedule of Fees, Title 18 (Electrical Code)

    City of Oklahoma City · Document dated November 18, 2025 · Effective November 18, 2025 · Retrieved September 26, 2026

    Read 2026-09-26 through the codifier. Five regimes with their own scope words: § 60-18-14 residential new construction (2026 column base $175.00), § 60-18-16 residential add-on/remodel/service, §§ 60-18-20 and 60-18-22 commercial new construction split at 4,000 square feet, § 60-18-24 commercial add-on/service change, § 60-18-26 miscellaneous rows (all 2026 column), and § 60-18-12's standalone five-outlet permit. § 60-18-27 repeats the $0.50 OUBCC line.

Verification

Last verified against the official source in Sep 2026.

Other permits in Oklahoma City